Author Topic: Using Fat to make Bio diesel  (Read 4567 times)

Offline PD1

• Oil stirrer
Using Fat to make Bio diesel
« on: September 21, 2020, 09:43:35 PM »
Hi I’m fairly new to making Bio diesel , after a few batches I am making bio from cooking oil using the two stage no titration method , I’ve got some fat that I want to use . I’ve been told by a mate that used to make bio that you can mix a bit with oil but not too much , though he used a one stage method. What’s the best way to make the fat I to bio , can I make a batch just from fat ?
Thank in advance

Offline nigelb

• Wiki Editor
  • Grand Gunge Master
Re: Using Fat to make Bio diesel
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2020, 11:34:26 PM »
Hi PD1..you can use whatever quantities of solid fat you like in producing biodiesel. In many cases, using solids can produce better quality BD. However, the temperature it begins to gel at will be higher than fuel made from other sources. This can be problematic as the weather gets colder.

I made a batch many years ago from oil given to me by Oakwoodtv. Pain in the arse to get it liquid enough to process. Great fuel though. It was a good summer challenge.

Offline Tony

• Administrator
  • Oil baron
  • Fo' shizzle, biodizzle
    • Southampton Waste Oil Collection
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2020, 10:57:48 AM »
I think the general solution is to heat up some liquid oil then melt the fat into it.  Oils that are solid at room temp tend to have a higher calorific value than liquids (longer hydrocarbon chains).

That said it's an utter PITA to deal with and I prefer to stick with liquid.

Sometimes I'll take really hot oil, and mix that into whites with some glycerol and that seems to help - but I think in my case the whites are more likely to be oil+water and I'm just removing the water to leave better oil.

And lets not forget that guy in the US, a liposuction surgeon - that got into trouble for converting his patient's fats into fuel for his car...